Adventures as Miss Saigon

Wrapping it all up

Posted on: April 24, 2011

My time in Vietnam and South East Asia is quickly coming to an end. The last week has been busy trying to get the things on my to do list done and enjoy my last days in this amazing country. Getting through the days have been a struggle at times, I think mostly due to the weather in HCMC. It’s getting hot hot hot here again, and humid! Humid Canadian summers will now seem like a breeze after living in this climate! The rain has started up again, and we’ve had a couple of crazy storms already. It rains so intensely here that the streets often flood…and although wearing a poncho in the rain while riding on a motorbike helps keep your upper body dry, your feet and legs are soaking wet when riding through these flooded areas. Gross.

On Tuesday, the therapist who is replacing me to work with J was due to arrive. Some unforeseen complications have delayed his arrival by approximately 2 weeks, so we won’t have any crossover time with J. But that also means I get J to myself for a few extra days. 🙂

On Wednesday night, I picked up my new clothes from the wonderful tailor that came recommended to me by a contact on Twitter. Less than two weeks prior, I went to see Lan in D3 with the material that Laura and Wendy had given me for Christmas and a picture of the dress I wanted created. One fitting and minor adjustments later and I have the most beautiful Asian inspired dress. Lan also made me another black dress and a pair of black dress pants duplicated from items that I took to her. So two amazing dresses and dress pants tailor made, plus the material for one of the dresses and the pants totaled less than $55usd. Incredible!

On Thursday I finished with my evening client, and Friday night found Laura, Wendy and I out for sushi dinner and a few drinks at Banana Bar. In seven months, the three of us have been through so much together…I easily consider them two of my dearest and closest girlfriends. I’m going to miss my girls so much, and am only comforted by the fact that I know our paths will cross again in the near future. We’ve talked about traveling together every five years, and I really hope that happens.

On Saturday, Wendy and I spent the entire day in D1, running errands, shopping and indulging in food and delicious drinks. I finished up my shopping list and got to suck in as much of the city as I could. It’s very surreal that this is not my reality any more. I spent some time reflecting with Wendy on my wide eyed reactions the first time she brought Zuzana and I into D1. The traffic, the chaos, the sights and the smells were all completely overwhelming. Seven months later, I’m not fazed by these “normal everyday facts of life” here in Vietnam.

So here I am, Sunday night in Saigon…I’ve spent the day knocking some more things off of my to do lists, hanging out with Laura at home, and continuing to indulge in the delicious foods that Vietnam has to offer. One more day of work with J tomorrow before I fly to Australia on Tuesday night.

My heart breaks a little with every goodbye that I say…

Leave a Reply

