Adventures as Miss Saigon

My second last weekend in the city!

Posted on: April 17, 2011

Trying to make the most of my remaining days in Vietnam, I managed to pack a lot into my second last weekend here.

On Friday night right after work, I met up with Wendy and we headed into D1. I needed to stop at the post office and do a bit of shopping in preparation for my return home. Thankfully, my ridiculous level of organization paid off and I was able to get my list checked off pretty quickly. There’s still a few things left to shop for, but I got everything that I was looking for on Friday night! We were then on a mission to find a cute little cafe that Wendy had heard about. Down a side alley and up a flight of stairs, and we found ourselves in a great spot with fancy, funky shopping, a cozy corner and delicious desserts! Wendy and I lost ourselves in coffee shop chat for a few hours before heading back to our neighbourhood for Indian food and a decently early night. I’m definitely going to miss our regular coffee dates!

coffee shop sweets...photo cred Wendy

After a sleep in on Saturday morning, I had the fun task of moving my stuff over to Laura’s house. She’s been wonderful enough to offer me her spare bedroom for my remaining time in Vietnam so that the therapist who is coming to replace me can move into my apartment. Several trips in the blazing sun, from my apartment to Laura’s (a few blocks away), lugging all of my stuff…I hate moving and am so glad it’s pretty much done now! Laura and I then went to get facials, and our hair shampooed and blow dried at a nearby salon (for a total of $10usd) before heading back to hers to get ready for a night on the town. It’s going to be a fun week spending so much time with Laura!

Laura, Wendy and I headed down to Boomerang, a great restaurant with a waterfront view in our neighbourhood. We met up with Tony and his wife, Trang, and the newest therapist to arrive to Vietnam, Nic. Nic arrived late on Friday night, and I’m amazed that she was able to function despite the long airplane ride from the USA and lack of sleep! After a few beers in the hot Vietnam sun, we headed down to D1 to meet up with our other coworker, Kathryn for dinner at a wonderfully Vietnamese restaurant. Delicious food and more drinks there before saying goodnight to Trang and Kathryn. The rest of us walked to Go2 in the nearby backpacker’s area for more drinks and good laughs. I’m so sad to be leaving this amazing group of people, but I’m so lucky to be able to call them friends.

Nic, Laura and Wendy at dinner

Kathryn and I eating duck tongue!

Tony at Go2

Today has been a productive one…another sleep in (after Laura and I were up late last night having some girl talk), a bit of unpacking and organizing at Laura’s, cleaning up my old apartment and getting a few more things checked off my “to do” list.

This week is going to fly by. I’m working my regular hours with J and my extra hours with my evening client. I have to meet with my tailor to pick up the clothing that I’ve had made (there will be a blog post about the trip to the tailor’s soon!) and try to spend as much time with my friends here as possible. Only 9 days until I’m off to Australia, and 22 days until I’m headed home! Very exciting times!!!

Leave a Reply

