Adventures as Miss Saigon

I’m ready…

Posted on: April 2, 2011

This may make me sound ungrateful, but despite the last 2 amazing trips that I have planned, I’m ready to come home right now. The next 5 weeks and 2 days will likely be the longest period of time I’ve ever experienced (other than the dreaded 20 hour return flight to Canada). I’m desperately trying to stay positive and enjoy my remaining time here, but it’s hard when your heart has already flown home.

The only thing that is saving me is how busy I’ll be the next few weeks…working my regular day with J (I’ll really miss my little monkey when my time with him is up), then racing across town to my evening client’s really eats up my day. I leave my apartment in the morning at 7:45am, come home for an hour lunch, then finally get home around 6:30pm with just enough energy to make some dinner and call my mom. This coming week, I only work 4 days and head to the airport on Thursday night right after my evening client. I’m flying to Jakarta, Indonesia for a day, then off to Bali – Ubud for one and a half days and Seminyak for my last day. I’ll get home Monday afternoon, so the following week is another short work week. One more full week with J, then I’m done and off to Australia for 12 days before flying back to HCMC for 1 day, then flying home.

I’m really overwhelmed with the idea of coming home, and that it’s getting so close. I can’t stop thinking about it, and I know I’ve made the right decision for me. I can’t wait to hug my little family and furbaby, Lexi. I’m so excited to connect with friends, old and new, and have some exciting plans already made for when I get home. Just thinking about all of this is bringing tears to my eyes.

likely one of my last skype dates with lexi before it's real cuddles and kisses!

I need to keep busy, stay focused, and enjoy my remaining weeks in Vietnam and traveling. I don’t know when I’ll be able to come back to Southeast Asia, and know that my opportunities for travel change dramatically when I’m back in Canada. Wish me luck…

2 Responses to "I’m ready…"

lexi looks blind….or eyeless!

well she looked terrified of you in the other ones i had! 😛

Leave a Reply

