Adventures as Miss Saigon

Leaving on a jet plane

Posted on: February 16, 2011

I used to get really excited being in airports. Everyone is coming or going or meeting loved ones. There’s a certain magic in the airport air and everyone has a story to tell. Sadly, I think I’m becoming immune to this magic. Flying has lost it’s excitement…don’t get me wrong, I’m still very much excited about every trip that I’m lucky enough to go on, but flying has become just another mode of transportation.

Since September 2010, I have flown from Toronto to Hong Kong, Hong Kong to Ho Chi Minh City, HCMC to Singapore and back twice, HCMC to Hanoi and back, HCMC to Phu Quoc and back, HCMC to Siem Reap and back, and on Friday, fly HCMC to Hoi An and back. Between March 1st and mid May, I fly HCMC to Hue and back, HCMC to Bangkok and back, HCMC to Jakarta to Bali and back, and HCMC to Sydney to Melbourne to Brisbane to Sydney to HCMC. That’s a lot of time spent on airplanes and in airports in 8 months!

I really hope that some day I can recapture the magic and excitement that I once felt for airports. I really wish I had been able to keep frequent flyer miles for all of these trips. The really great thing to come from all of this flying is that I’m now very skilled at packing in carry on luggage only!

Leave a Reply

