Adventures as Miss Saigon

Absence makes the heart grow fonder

Posted on: December 20, 2010

Obviously, when I decided to move to the other side of the world, I knew there would be many things I would quickly miss…my family, friends and dog top that list.

Just over three months into this year long journey, there are many things that I’m now missing that may have caught me off guard…things that I didn’t realize I was so attached to at home…

  • the freedom of having a car…although transportation is cheap and easily accessible here, I miss being able to just jump in my Civic and go.
  • seasons! It’s difficult to keep track of the months when the weather is more or less the same everyday…hot, hot, hot! I actually miss the routine of snow (waking up early to scrape off the Civic, repeatedly cleaning off the Civic throughout the work day, unexpected and always welcomed snow days), the comfort of seeing your breath on a cold winter day, and most of all, I miss wearing sweaters, scarves and toques!
  • “regular” food…I rarely eat meat here (the girls I work and hang around with here are all vegetarians and I don’t necessarily trust the meat in Vietnam) and I’ve been trying to indulge in Asian cuisine (which is all very delicious), but I really do miss my mom’s home cooking! I already have a list in the works of the meals I want to eat when I get home!
  • living in the same time zone as my family and friends…12 hours makes if difficult to connect with people at home some times.
  • music…at home, it was natural for me to always be listening to the radio or my iTunes, downloading new music whenever the mood strikes, and going to live shows on a regular basis. Here, I have to go out of my way to listen to music – my computer is becoming slower and fussier by the day making listening to iTunes challenging, internet in Vietnam is mostly just slow, so downloading music is rare, and although Wendy and I went to Loretofest, it will never completely fill my Trews void!

On the flip side, there are things I already know I will miss about life in Vietnam when I do finally return to Canada…

  • palm trees and the many other joys of living in a tropical climate! I hate wearing socks, so constant sandal weather is perfectly okay with me!
  • the cost of living and traveling in Vietnam and Southeast Asia…I make similar money to what I made at home, but instead of going paycheck to paycheck in order to afford the lifestyle I was comfortable with, here, I can afford that lifestyle, can afford to travel almost every weekend, and can also save.
  • delicious, amazing, cheap, fresh food…simply changing how and what I eat here (due to availability and personal choices) has caused me to lose approximately 30lbs in the 3 months I’ve been here. And, the best part is, I don’t feel like I’ve sacrificed anything.

Despite the homesickness roller coaster and all of my Canadian comforts that I’m really missing, I’m still trying to focus on enjoying my time here…I’m aware that this may be a once in a lifetime opportunity, and I don’t want to miss anything. Three months has never gone by faster and slower at the exact same time.

1 Response to "Absence makes the heart grow fonder"

Hi Megan. I finally got caught up on reading your blog. It sounds like you are having the adventure of a lifetime! I know you are missing things especially now over the Christmas season, but know that you have the opportunity to see & taste things that you won’t once you get back home. Everyone here is fine. Your mom is looking better each time I see her. I know she is still frustrated with the daily dressings, but she just has to be patient for a while longer. It is Christmas morning and we are headed to Julie’s. Mitchell was pretty excited last evening and Mackena was following his lead. Well I will run for now, but will connect again in the next day or so. All our love. Merry Christmas. Aunt Monica

Leave a Reply

