Adventures as Miss Saigon

Looking back on week 12

Posted on: December 4, 2010

Hospital visits, drinks with friends, and desperately needed sleep pretty much sums up my past week.

After coming home from Singapore, I decided that it was time to get my cough and cold checked out at FV Hospital. Dr Google diagnosed me with a sinus infection, so at the hospital, that’s what I told them. The doctor wanted to send me for a chest x-ray and face x-ray. After politely declining this several times, I asked for antibiotics. He hummed and hawed, telling me I was just like the Vietnamese, and explaining that I could buy antibiotics over the counter without a prescription here! What a crazy crazy country…also crazy is walking away with 4 prescriptions!

Despite not feeling 100% this week, or being able to hear 100% (my ear is still plugged from flying this past weekend), it was a busy week! I got a pedi at a new place on the main street here, and I will definitely go back there again! They had comfy chairs for pedicures, and created a fancy design on my toes, all for $4usd!

my latest pedi design

This week, Evans came to town for less than 12 hours. Evans is my aunt’s friend’s son, who moved to this country around the same time that I started talking about moving here. We’d never actually met before, but exchanged emails and text messages, and I was looking forward to hanging out with another Canuck. I met him at the airport, and after dropping off his bags at my apartment, we headed down to the backpacker’s district (in district 1) for a late dinner and drinks. We ended up having dinner at LePub, where trivia night was being held. We did embarrassingly bad on trivia (even the Canadian category) and had to sneak out with our heads down before the trivia was over. We then headed to Go2 for more drinks, laughs and watching the street chaos. After a late night and too many drinks, Evans headed off for the airport at 7:30am on his way to Da Nang, and I was on my way to work. Hopefully he comes back to explore HCMC for more than 12 hours next time!

Evans at LePub

Friday night found me out for dinner with Wendy, Laura, Tony and his wife Trang. On the menu was delicious Vietnamese roadside seafood BBQ! It was quite the experience – from sitting on tiny plastic stools in front of a tiny plastic table to trying weird and wonderful seafood that I never would have tried before. I’m pretty sure I tried it all – crab, clams, oysters, snails and other underwater creatures. Can’t wait to do it again!

instead of a dinner menu, just point to the basket!

a view inside from our table outside

cooking dinner

yummy seafood

The rest of my time this week has been spent sleeping and trying to regain my health. Saturday was very unproductive, but completely relaxing. I’m hoping for a productive Sunday, so I better get off to bed!

lots of sleep...with the Lexi pillow my sis made me as a going away present!

Leave a Reply

