Adventures as Miss Saigon

Bittersweet

Posted on: September 30, 2010

Just as I was finally starting to feel settled and more at home in Ho Chi Minh City, I was woken up with an early morning phone call yesterday from my sister saying my mom was back in the hospital for an unexpected surgery. The good news is that the surgery went well and that my mom is in great hands – lots of family support and in an amazing hospital at home. The bad news is that her recovery time is extended and I’m still on the other side of the world…It’s definitely making it difficult to be here and to focus on my work.

After hearing that my mom’s surgery went well yesterday, I decided to go ahead and book a few trips, as Vietnam Airlines is having a seat sale in celebration of Hanoi’s 1000th anniversary. I currently have flights booked to Hanoi, Vietnam (just a few weeks after the official anniversary date), Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (our Christmas vacation to the beach) and to Sydney, Australia. Trips to finalize and book in the next day or so include Singapore, Thailand and Cambodia.

My mood right now is bittersweet…I’m so upset that I’m not at home to be with my mom and family, but I’m also excited about all of travel plans that are in the works. I’m just hoping things at hope start to improve soon. Maybe then I can begin to feel less guilty for being here…

2 Responses to "Bittersweet"

ooo you’re going to love Hanoi! buy lots of clothes and enjoy the beaches! trying to finangle a trip to Phillippines for work in the new year so I’ll keep you posted.

ooooh keep me posted on phillippines!!! that would be amazing to meet up!!!

Leave a Reply

